Organic & Gluten Free Foods: Hidden Sources of Gluten in Your Diet Part 2

For those diagnosed with gluten intolerance or celiac disease, the transition to a gluten free diet is filled with potential pitfalls.   Jax Pets Lowell, author of The Gluten – Free Bible shifts this view to say, “Todays‘ celiac lives in a universe that is vastly larger than the narrow world of inedible food…specialty stores have bloomed, offering high-quality products that…taste as good or even better than the foods we must forgo!”

There are dozens of foods and products out there filled with additives and possible hidden sources of gluten.  However, looking at Gluten-Free with Lowell’s perspective shifts this lifestyle as an adventure!

How do you avoid those foods and ensure you are never surprised by a sudden bout of illness?

Educate yourself on what is safe for you and your loved ones to consume.

This is the second article (of two) describing 5 more hidden sources of gluten to avoid.  The first article is found on the prior blog post.

1. Impure Oats – Oats are a big sticking point for many people with gluten intolerances. Technically, pure oats are gluten free, but many oats are cut in a way that exposes them to gluten and can make them dangerous.

Harmony Farms offers a variety of Gluten-Free and Organic products including Arrowhead Mills Gluten-Free Cereals. Visit our store or call us at 919-782-0064 to find out more. Arrowhead-Mills-GF-Steel-Cut-Oats

2. The Hidden Terms – Various terms may be used to describe gluten containing ingredients on packaging. Malt, graham, spelt, kamut, and natural flavoring are all examples of blanket terms that refer to gluten ingredients. Spices may also contain gluten as flour is used to keep them from clumping.

3. HVP, HPP, TVP – Various vegetable protein mixes almost always contain gluten as it is what gives these meat substitutes their chewy texture. If you are a vegetarian, avoid any “fake-chicken” products.

4. Restaurants (cross contamination) – Even if a restaurant offers a gluten free menu, beware that there is no way to ensure the food didn’t come in contact with gluten containing foods. Cross contamination is a major risk in a restaurant environment so be careful where you eat.

5. Colorings – Some colorings used for drinks and certain foods may contain gluten. Check with manufacturer’s websites before eating anything that has any sort of non-dye coloring in it.

Gluten is present in hundreds of everyday foods and finding it can be a stressful process. Thankfully, awareness is growing for the problems faced by those with gluten-intolerances and uncovering hidden gluten sources is becoming easier, but you should remain vigilant to avoid accidental ingestion.

At Harmony Farms we strive to create an environment friendly to all Celiac Disease Experiences and will help in any way that we can.  Celiac Disease Foundation and Support Groups are critical in maintaining a solid network for successful Gluten-Free living.  Print your own, free HARMONY GF LIST to keep abreast of the Gluten-Free Products that we offer.

Organic & Gluten Free Foods: Hidden Sources of Gluten in Your Diet Part 1

For those diagnosed with gluten intolerance or celiac disease, the transition to a gluten free diet is filled with potential pitfalls.  What are these potential pitfalls?

According to Wikipedia, “Gluten-free food is normally seen as a diet for celiac disease, but people with a gluten allergy  (an unrelated disease) should also avoid all other grains.”  There are dozens of foods and products out there filled with additives and possible hidden sources of gluten. To avoid those foods and ensure you are never surprised by a sudden bout of illness, here are 5 hidden sources of gluten to avoid.

1. Dog Food – Commercial dog food is loaded with fillers and at the top of the list is usually gluten. Cat food can often contain gluten as well, though not as commonly as dog food. Be sure to wash your hands thoroughly after feeding your pets, or find a grain-free food for your dog.

Wash your hands after you feed me!

Wash your hands after you feed me!

2. Skin care products – Many skin care products, like sun tan lotion, acne cream and shampoo contain gluten from the manufacturing process. The amount is small and the chances of it getting in your mouth are smaller but if you are very sensitive, it can be enough to make you sick.

3. Shared Foods – Say your spouse puts peanut butter on his normal, gluten-filled bread and then wipes the excess peanut butter off on the rim of the jar. Now there is gluten in the peanut butter jar. Cross contamination at home is one of the biggest obstacles for families transitioning one or more members to a gluten free diet.

4. Glue on Envelopes – The glue on stamps and envelopes often contains gluten from the flour used in manufacturing to dry the glue. Use a sponge to wet your envelopes or get the peel and stick kind.

5. Medications – As with skin care products, medications are made on an assembly-line where flour is used as an anti-caking agent. Always check with the manufacturer’s website to make sure your pills are gluten free (increasingly this is the case). Vitamins and over the counter supplements are a risk for this as well.

At Harmony Farms we strive to create an environment friendly to all Celiac Disease Experiences and will help in any way that we can.  Celiac Disease Foundation and Support Groups are critical in maintaining a solid network for successful Gluten-Free living.  Print your own, free HARMONY GF LIST to keep abreast of the Gluten-Free Products that we offer.